The Kindness of Neighbors

I am incredibly grateful today for living in such a wonderfully giving community.

My home is made up of four disabled adults. We all currently have injuries, conditions and ailments that prevent us from completing certain tasks. One of these tasks is shoveling snow. Ugh! It’s so pretty but such a pain to deal with.

Last night Mother Nature was kind enough to dump about a foot and a half of fluffy white snow on us. Our house has a very long walkway and a wide driveway. Even if all four of us tied each other together we would not be able to put a dent in that. it’s a lot of work and it’s very heavy.

Thankfully, our neighbors stepped in to help. The gentleman next door brought over his snowblower and did our driveway and walkway. This man, who I am leaving nameless to protect his privacy, is one of the most giving people I’ve had the privilege to know. He and his wife have been so incredibly kind to us for many, many years. They give of themselves to the entire community here. Truly phenomenal couple. I am blessed to call them friends.

The other neighbor I absolutely HAVE to thank is our little guy who lives down the street. This 14 year old young man comes to our house, after every snowstorm, and cleans up our walkway, clears the snow off of our cars and does not expect to be paid!! Incredibly rare quality nowadays. We do give him some cash because he’s definitely earned it. He is a unique young man with a heart of gold.

In just a short 24 hour period I have been lucky enough to witness the kindness of others. I own the responsibility of paying it forward. I will in any way I’m able.

Take care of each other.

-Becca

One thought on “The Kindness of Neighbors

  1. woulldn’t it be awesome if everyone was that kind of neighbor. happy for you all that you have some great one’s

    Like

Leave a comment